• Home
  • Awards
  • Carol D. Reiser Children's Book Award

The CVC is currently redesigning the focus of the Carol D. Reiser Award.
Please check back in Summer 2019 for details about the future of the Award!


Congratulations to the 2016 Carol D. Reiser Children's Book Award Recipient:

Can We Help? Kids Volunteering to Help Their Communities
by George Ancona

In the book, George Ancona celebrates the joy of kids giving back. In one after-school program, middle-school students mentor and tutor younger children. Via a special partnership, schoolchildren help professionals train assistance dogs for people with disabilities. At a community farm, families plant, grow, and harvest produce for soup kitchens and charities. In these and other examples of volunteering, kids of all ages work together knitting hats and scarves for those who could use warm clothes, packing hot meals to deliver to housebound people, and keeping roadways clean. Young humanitarians reading these accounts may well be inspired to find ways that they can help, too.

About the Carol D. Reiser Children’s Book Award

The Carol D. Reiser Children’s Book Award is given annually to the children’s book or books published the preceding year that most effectively inspires community service and volunteerism in children. This award was established by the  Corporate Volunteer Council of Atlanta, where Carol was co-founder and past president, and is a living tribute to Carol Reiser’s lifelong commitment to community. Judges are national level experts in children’s literature and in volunteerism.

Award Eligibility

Designated by its publisher as being a children’s book (K – 5th grade)
Work of fiction, poetry, folklore, non-fiction or anthology
Published in the U.S.A.
Self-contained, not dependent on other media for its meaning
Hardback or paper back and of any length


Each year, the award is recognized at a CVC signature event, on the CVC website and via social media.  Special recognition and PR events may be coordinated each year based on the theme of the book.


A panel of judges will include literary and community affairs experts from across the United States. All decisions of the judging panel are final.

Past Winners

2015    Katie's Cabbage by Katie Stagliano

2014    One Voice by Cindy McKinley

2013    House on Dirty-Third Street by Jo S. Kittinger

2012    Do Something!  A Handbook for Young Activists by Nancy Lublin, Vanessa Martir and Julia Steers

2010    Operation Redwood by S. Terrell French

2009     Grow:  A Novel in Verse by Juanita Havill

2008     Reach Out and Give by Cheri J. Meiners, M.Ed.

2007     Ryan and Jimmy and the Well in Africa that Brought Them Together by Herb Shoveller

2006     Mother Teresa by Demi and Makeovers by Marcia by Claudia Mills

2005     The Giving Book by Ellen Sabin

2004     Boxes for Katje by Candace Fleming

2003     Anna Casey’s Place in the World by Adrian Fogelin


The CVC of Atlanta will begin accepting nominations for the 2017 award soon. To submit a nomination, simply complete our official nomination form and mail 6 copies of the book to CVC of Atlanta, Attn: Cheryl Kortemeier, 1100 Peachtree Street, NE, Suite 2800, Atlanta, GA 30309.

Questions?  Contact CVC Executive Director, Cheryl Kortemeier.

©  2017-2019 Corporate Volunteer Council of Atlanta.  All Rights Reserved.| Important Disclaimers
600 Means Street, NW, Suite 100, Atlanta GA 30318

Connect with us:

Facebook Twitter Linkedin

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software